How to Delete Quora Account

In order to keep all your personal information safe and to prevent the spread of accounts (which can be easily hacked if you do not maintain the account and routinely change the passwords), you should delete Internet accounts you do not regularly use. If you have a Quora account and are no longer interested in maintaining it, the best course of action is to delete it. However, before you delete it, you should be aware of not only what all Quora is able to offer you but also what will happen should you delete the account. Whatever you decide to do, this is what you need to know about how to delete Quora accounts.

About Quora

If you have a question, Quora has the answers. The website is designed as a question-and-answer site. With it, you post a question, and other users will answer it to the best of their abilities. Anyone is free to ask whatever question they want, and people can respond. It’s heavily community-driven and is available in nearly a dozen languages. It is also available throughout the world, so there is no limit to who asks questions or who answers them. When you want to know how to delete Quora accounts, you will close yourself off from these Q and A services.

The website has been operational for nearly a decade now as it first opened up in 2009 and went public in 2010. Adam D’Angelo and Charlie Cheever, both who were former employees in the early years of Facebook, started the website. The website itself has grown rather sizably. By April 2017, it had over 190 million monthly users. It is also now available directly on mobile devices with applications designed for both Android and Apple iOS. The website has recently started to include some advertising within the site. With the sheer number of account users and information posted, the founders and heads of the website found the need to raise money in order, at the very least, to support the growing bandwidth.

The Popularity of Quora

Quora has become even more popular with the help of Google. As Google has shifted away from content farms and ranking websites designed specifically for search engine results, Google has elevated websites, like Quora, as the answers given by regular users are not designed for search results but instead to give honest (and often quality) answers.

By the end of 2018, Quora had amassed over 300 million users. With its continued growth, it looks to surpass Twitter in total monthly users within the next year (although it does not have the same kind of recognition as Twitter).

Why You Could Consider Deleting Your Quora Account

As social media platforms continue to grow so too does the possibility of a data breach. This, in fact, happened to Quora not too long ago. In December of 2018, Quora announced that around 100 million users (about a third of those using the platform) were effected in some way by a data breach.

Quora does require individuals to use their real names. Quora does not use a verification system to assure the accounts are accurate, but people within the community can flag accounts for not using real names. The more someone remains active within the Quora community, the more likely this will happen. (It works as a self-police method.) So if you do not use your own Quora account and would like to avoid potentially being part of any future data breach, you may want to consider deleting your account.

Account Deletion Vs. Account Deactivation

If you are looking at how to delete Quora accounts and are heavily considering this action, you should know there is an option to delete the account, and there is an option to deactivate the account. The difference is rather substantial, so before you continue on with how to delete Quora accounts, you’ll want to understand the difference.

Deleting Your Account

When you delete your account, everything is removed from the Quora website. This information is also gone for good. So any questions or posts you have included will no longer be available. You won’t be able to look up past information you have shared or commented on. If there is any chance you might want the information in the future ,you should not delete the account, or at the very least, you should save the information locally to your hard drive.

Deactivating Your Account

This is a little different from deleting your account. When you deactivate your account, you will basically mute your account. People can’t send you messages or comment on your posts. You will not be able to post on accounts either. It is basically like you’re freezing your account. While it does have some deleting features, you can always log back onto your account. When you log back onto your account, it will remove the freeze, and you’ll be able to continue using it like nothing happened. This is a good way to go about things if you need a break from using the Quora service or if you’re going on an extended vacation and will not be able to access your account for any extended period.

Should there be another data breach though, as your account is still maintained by Quora, it can be effected. So if you’re looking into how to delete Quora accounts for security you’ll want to keep all of this in mind.

How to Delete Quora Accounts

It isn’t all that difficult to delete your Quora account. If you follow these “how to delete Quora account” instructions, you shouldn’t have any problem. Just make sure you know you really want to delete it. If you’re considering deactivating your account, do that, and let it sit for a few days. However, if you know you for sure want to delete your Quora account, just use these instructions.

Logging In and Deleting Your Account

In order to begin the “how to delete Quora account” instructions, you’ll need to log into your account at Quora.com. (You can perform these deletion steps either from a desktop or from your mobile device.) Once you have logged in, click your account name, and then choose the “Utility” button. This is the three dot icon. Once you have done this, choose the “Settings” option from the pull-down menu. Doing so will bring up a collection of additional options. From the new menu, choose “Privacy.” Once here, scroll down to the bottom, and choose the “Delete Account” option. You will then be asked if you are sure you want to do this. Once you select “Yes,” your account will be deleted.

14-Day Grace Period

It is important to note that you do have a 14-day grace period. This means that, within the two weeks immediately following the deletion of your account, you can log back in and activate the account. However, should you fail to log back in during the 14-day grace period, your account will forever be removed. Should you decide to start your account back up, you’ll need to restart everything and complete a brand new account.

Deactivating Your Account

Perhaps you would like to keep your account somewhat active, but you would like to stop receiving emails and notifications while it remains at this status. There are also times where you might want to at least keep it active, especially if you have a larger collection of followers and friends on the social platform (and if you use it to share your blogs and other social posts as there are many bloggers who take full advantage of the blogging features here). In these cases, you will want to deactivate your account.

If you want to deactivate your account, you will follow similar steps to those used to delete your account. You will need to log in, choose the “Settings” option and then click on “Privacy.” When you scroll down, you will see several additional features, and right next to the “Delete” account option, you’ll find the “Deactivate” account option. Once you select the Deactivate option and approve it, you’ll be logged out of the account. However, it will still be there, and you can log back into your account to remove the deactivation whenever you might like. There is no required grace period with deactivating the account.

Conclusion

Quora is one of the best question-and-answer websites currently online. It is great for when you have anything from a basic question to an extremely in-depth question and you want input from the worldwide community. It can be fun, and it can be entertaining. However, it may also put your information at risk, which is why you might want to delete it. By following these “how to delete Quora account instructions,” you’ll be able to delete your account for good. Just make sure you really want to follow through with the account deletion because once you do it, all of your information, including all of your posts, will be gone forever.

Leave a Comment