How to Delete Lyft Account

Whether you’re a Lyft rider or driver, the time has come to deactivate and delete your account. Maybe you’ve purchased a car and become your own chauffeur; maybe you switched to a different ride share company. Whatever your reason, we’ll let you know how to delete Lyft account in a few easy steps.

What Happens When I Delete My Lyft Account?

Before you leave Lyft for good, you might be experiencing a little pre-breakup anxiety. You’re not just worried about how to delete Lyft account; all kinds of questions are running through your mind. For example, what exactly happens when I delete my Lyft account? Can I ever reactivate my account? And does Lyft have access to my personal information even after I’m gone?

The short answer to the last question is yes. Lyft retains some of your information even after you delete the account under the Terms of Service agreement you signed when you created your account. The information retained after you delete your account includes:

  • Your name, email address, and phone number
  • Any information you provided on your Lyft app (photo, etc.)
  • Your payment method and information
  • Information about the device you used for Lyft
  • Your reviews and ratings of Lyft drivers
  • Your location information while using Lyft
  • Any communications with Lyft customer service representatives
  • Any information you provided while applying to become a Lyft driver (even if your application was rejected)

Why Do They Keep It?

The main reason Lyft retains this information is to streamline the sign-up process for you should you ever decide to use the app again; even if you’re confident that you won’t, there’s no way to permanently delete this information with your account, and Lyft has the right to retain it according to the Terms of Service. However, you can rest assured that Lyft is required to protect your information even after you’re no longer a customer thanks to its Privacy Policy.

Re-Activating

As for your question about reactivating your Lyft account, don’t worry: Lyft allows for changes of heart and will welcome you back with open arms. You can reach out to Lyft’s customer service representatives at support@lyft.com to help you begin the process. It might take a little while, so don’t be worried if you don’t hear anything for a few days.

The good news is that because Lyft saves your account information, you won’t need to input all of your original information and you should be able to begin using Lyft’s service again as soon as your account is reactivated.

How to Delete Lyft Account

Once you’ve reviewed the information Lyft will retain once you’re gone, it’s time to say goodbye to your Lyft account.

Reach Out to Lyft Support

If you prefer communicating with a customer service representative, write an email to support@lyft.com and start the conversation by asking the representative to help you delete your account. If you’d like a faster route, head to Lyft’s help and support page to delete your account yourself.

Fill Out Information

On the Lyft help and support page, you’ll see 4 boxes for your information and support request. Fill in your email address and phone number associated with your Lyft account, then write the topic of your request in the Subject box (something simple like “delete account” will be fine).

Select From the Drop-Down Menu

Click on the drop-down menu at the bottom of the page and select your status (passenger, driver, applicant, or none of these). This will take you to a new drop-down menu with several customer support and account setting options. To delete your account, select “Profile and Account Settings.” Next, click on “Delete My Account or Unsubscribe” and finally “Delete My Account.”

Give Your Reason for Leaving

Once you click on “Delete My Account,” you’ll be taken to a new page with a short message from Lyft informing you of the fact that they will retain some personal information after your account is deleted. This page also features a box for you to leave your reason for leaving, a file upload option, and a check box to confirm you’re not a robot.

Type your reason for deleting your account into the text box. If you have a longer or more official complaint, you can make use of the file upload link to attach a letter, but a sentence or two in the text box should suffice for all other reasons (something as short as “I no longer wish to use this service” is a great option if you’re simply done using Lyft’s services). Next, check the box next to “I’m not a robot” and click Submit.

Receive Confirmation

Once you submit your form, you should receive email confirmation that your account is deleted within 1-2 days. If you don’t receive an email, you can reach out to Lyft customer support at support@lyft.com. You may be asked to repeat the process to delete your account, or the customer service representative may be able to delete your account for you.

How to Manage Lyft Email Subscriptions

Your account is gone–good job! Now, if you’d really like to cut ties with Lyft altogether, you’ll need to make sure to unsubscribe from their emails, which will continue to arrive in your inbox even after your account is deactivated. These emails often include promotions and incentives designed to win you back, so if you’d like to stop hearing from Lyft, it’s time to unsubscribe.

To unsubscribe from all Lyft communications and promotions, go back to the help and support page on Lyft’s website. Fill out the same form from your account deactivation request, only this time select “Profile and Account Settings,” “Delete My Account or Unsubscribe,” and then click “Unsubscribe from emails.”

Comments?

You’ll find yourself on another page with a text box provided for your comments. Write any comments or suggestions regarding Lyft’s email communications, then confirm you’re not a robot and click Submit. Once again there’s a file link provided in case you want to attach any longer communication.

The website states that you should allow up to 10 days for Lyft’s email communications to stop; if you have questions or if you’re still receiving emails after 10 days, you can write to Lyft customer support at support@lyft.com.

Conclusion

Now that you know how to delete Lyft account, you’re able to stop using this ride share service whenever you’d like. While the company will hold on to some of your personal information, you can rest assured that their Privacy Policy will continue to safeguard your old account details. In addition, you can reactivate your account at any time and begin using Lyft’s service thanks to your stored information in Lyft’s system.

You’re able to reach out to Lyft’s customer service representatives at any point during the process of deleting your account or unsubscribing from Lyft emails. In addition, Lyft offers you the option of sharing any comments, concerns, or complaints during the account deactivation process; it’s the perfect time to share your opinion about your Lyft experience.

If you’re leaving Lyft because you weren’t satisfied with their service, help them improve by letting them know. And if you enjoyed using Lyft but have decided to stop using their service for unrelated reasons, you can tell them before you submit your request to delete your account.

Leave a Comment