How to Delete LinkedIn

There are many reasons that you might have used LinkedIn over the years. Whether it’s been to grow your professional network or to keep up with the work lives of your colleagues, it’s useful for what it is. But how do you delete LinkedIn when you’ve reached the end of your time there? Read on to find out. Here, we’ll go into some quick facts about the social media giant, discuss its overall efficacy, and then describe each step one must take for how to delete LinkedIn.

What Is LinkedIn?

LinkedIn boasts 250 million users around the world. According to their about page, the vision of the company is to ‘create economic opportunity for every member of the global workforce.’ Additionally, their vision is to ‘connect the world’s professionals to make them more productive and successful.’ The founder, Reid Hoffman, conceived the idea for LinkedIn in 2002 in his living room. He’d eventually launch it on May 5, 2003. Beyond the ‘banner statements’ it does provide a very specific set of services in its current form; though if it’s not providing the resources you need, then you may opt for deleting LinkedIn.

Is There a Need for LinkedIn?

There might be a need for LinkedIn depending on who you are and what kind of work you do. Technically, anyone can be listed on LinkedIn. However, there may be more usefulness for someone who is either a student just starting their career. Also, approximately 90 million users are ‘senior level influencers,’ with important roles to play in their respective companies and industries. For these types of high powered people, there may be a greater need for LinkedIn. These types won’t be investigating how to delete LinkedIn any time soon.

Information on How to Delete LinkedIn

There are some simple steps you can take to permanently delete a LinkedIn account.

  1. First, go to: https://www.linkedin.com and log in.
  2. Next, click on your profile picture in the upper right-hand corner of your web browser window.
  3. You’ll see a drop-down menu where you’ll click ‘Settings and Privacy’ within the ‘Account’ section.
  4. Then, you’ll be taken to another menu, where you’ll see ‘Closing Your LinkedIn Account’ under ‘Subscriptions.’

Remembering Your ‘Why’

From here, you’ll be directed to a page that will ask you to go into the details of why you’re deleting your account. They’ll give you some options to pick from, or you can write your own reason. This is one of the more personal aspects of how to delete LinkedIn. You have the opportunity to provide feedback for the platform based on your particular experience during your time with it.

Final Steps

Lastly, you’ll be prompted to enter your login credentials one last time. This is probably in an effort to keep anyone other than the person whose account it is from executing the deletion. Once you’ve done this you can tick the box underneath to cease receiving any kind of email notifications from LinkedIn.

Finally, you’ll be shown the all-important button that says: ‘close account.’ If you’re having second thoughts, there’s a button next to this that will take you back to settings instead. If you’re certain, go ahead and click the ‘close account’ button. Congratulations, you’ve sucessfully executed how to delete LinkedIn.

Conclusion

Once you’ve taken the actions outlined above, it will be good for you to remember that it might take a little while for your LinkedIn presence to go away all together. In fact, most estimates maintain that it will be between 2-3 weeks for all of your information to be scrubbed from the search engines completely. If privacy is your number one concern, then it will also be helpful to go over LinkedIn’s data retention policy, outlined here: https://www.linkedin.com/help/linkedin/answer/14855/data-retention?lang=en
It’s important to note, that it’s LinkedIn’s privacy policy that will determine how your data is handled even after you’ve deleted your account. According to their website, LinkedIn removes your data from its active site no more than 24 hours after receiving your request. It also estimates full search engine deletion within 30 days. We hope this information on how to delete LinkedIn has been useful to you. For more information, please utilize the resources we’ve outlined above.

Leave a Comment