A Skype account is used to do voice calls, send messages, and make video calls with people through the internet. If you’ve recently created a new Skype account, or if you feel your current account is not safe, you may want to know how to delete Skype account. The process is somewhat complicated. The reason why there are so many steps to delete your Skype account is to ensure that you will not delete it accidentally, or that nobody but you will delete Skype account. This article will show you how to delete Skype account permanently.
How to Delete My Skype Account: Step-by-step Instructions
- Go to the Skype support center at support.skype.com/support_selection to start the Skype account deletion process. You will need to do this through an internet browser because you cannot delete your Skype account through the Skyoe app or desktop program.
- Login to your Skype account by entering your username, email or phone number, depending on which one you used to create your Skype account and your Skype password.
- Scroll down on the “Choose a help topic” list and pick the “Account and Sign-in” option.
- Choose the “Question about Closing a Skype Account” option on the “Choose a related problem” list that will automatically pop up after step 3.
- A page will appear with a link to the Skype account deletion page. Before clicking the link, make sure you have spent all your Skype credit, or have requested a refund, and turn off the Auto Recharge feature. It will take 60 days for your Skype account to be fully deleted. During this time, you may still be billed, if you do not turn off Auto Recharge.
- Verify you are the owner of the account
- Complete the Skype deletion process.
This is how to delete Skype account. As mentioned earlier, be sure you have saved all the information you need from your account, and have stopped all automatica payments, if there are any.
Don’t worry if your information will still show up in Skype after deleting your account. From the moment you delete your Skype account, you will have 60 days to reverse the account deletion process. This means your account will still be visible to others who look for it. You can make your account private from the settings menu before starting the deletion process.
However, if 60 days pass and you do not change your mind, you will no longer have access to that account. When you close your Skype account, the Microsoft account associated with your Skype account will also close.
When your Skype account is finally gone, all of your contacts and messaging history will be removed for good. If you want to use Skype again, you will need to sign up for a new account. You will also need to sign up for a Microsoft account as well.
For more details regarding how to delete Skype account, you can contact Skype customer service at support.skype.com